Toggle Side Menu In this section


The Carl N. Scheneman Excellence in Teaching Award recognizes a University of Missouri Extension faculty member for planning, conducting and evaluating one extension educational activity conducted this past year.


Recipient receives up to $2,000 (based on actual expenses) for an approved professional development activity.


All University of Missouri Extension faculty are eligible. Members of the immediate administrative staff of the vice chancellor for extension, regional directors, campus extension administrators and members of the Fellowship and Awards Committee are not eligible.


Nominees should have a primary role in completing or making significant progress toward accomplishing identifiable goals of an extension teaching program conducted in one year.

Nominations are evaluated on:

  • Need for the educational activity and extent to which it reflects current University of Missouri Extension priority program areas
  • Educational objectives and clear identification of the target audience.
  • Evaluation design and evidence of impact.
  • Innovation demonstrated by the educational activity.

Nominations and selection

University of Missouri campus and regional faculty and professional staff members may make a nomination.

Nominations for the 2020 awards will be accepted May 18 — August 10. Nominators will be directed through a simple form consisting of brief text fields, drop-down selection boxes, and a single description of why your nominee is deserving of the award. Note: Nominator name and contact information are not required fields; you may nominate anonymously or self-nominate.

Nominees are automatically requested to complete an electronic application form, and references will then be contacted for a simple statement of support as part of the final selection process. This is a simple, rolling, multi-step process and each nomination proceeds independently of all others.

If you have questions regarding this process, please contact Tippie Greene. For award-specific questions, please email [email protected].

Nominations are reviewed by the Fellowship and Awards Committee appointed by the vice chancellor for extension. The committee – composed of representatives of UMEA, Epsilon Sigma Phi, the University of Missouri campuses, and the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Extension and Engagement – makes recommendations to the vice chancellor, who makes the final selection.

Award location

A symbol or recognition is presented by the vice chancellor for extension at a regional or campus event.

Award recipients

2020: Chelsea Corkins

2019: Doug Swanson

2018: David L. Burton

2017: Cynthia E. Crawford

2016: Ashley Morgan Bales

2015: Joseph William Koenen

2014: Shirley J. Farrah

2013: Lee Ann Woolery

2012: David L. Burton

2010: Karen Jewel Elliott

2009: Wendeline S. Brumbaugh

2008: Rebecca J. Travnichek

2007: Cynthia E. Crawford

2006: Marsha A. Alexander

2005: Carole Grigsby Bozworth

2004: Nina Yuh Hsien Chen