Toggle Side Menu In this section


The David E. Baker Distinguished Extension Programmatic Leadership Award recognizes a University of Missouri Extension faculty member who has demonstrated excellence in the development and delivery of strategic educational efforts or programming to address emerging agriculture and/or natural resource challenges and issues.


Recipient will receive a plaque and up to $1,000 to be used for professional development.


All University of Missouri Extension faculty are eligible. Members of the immediate administrative staff of the vice chancellor for extension, regional directors, campus extension administrators and members of the Fellowship and Awards Committee are not eligible.


Recipients of the award shall demonstrate

  • A track record of high quality educational programming that strategically addresses emerging challenges and issues impacting University of Missouri Extension clientele.
  • Excellence in building and maintaining new partnerships.
  • Leadership in cross-disciplinary endeavors.
  • Outstanding evaluation efforts.
  • Innovation demonstrated by the educational activity.
  • Proven commitment to lifelong learning for planning, conducting and evaluating extension educational activity.

Nominations and selection

Nominations for the 2020 awards will be accepted May 18 — August 10. Nominators will be directed through a simple form consisting of brief text fields, drop-down selection boxes, and a single description of why your nominee is deserving of the award. Note: Nominator name and contact information are not required fields; you may nominate anonymously or self-nominate.

Nominees are automatically requested to complete an electronic application form, and references will then be contacted for a simple statement of support as part of the final selection process. This is a simple, rolling, multi-step process and each nomination proceeds independently of all others.

If you have questions regarding this process, please contact Tippie Greene. For award-specific questions, please email [email protected].

Nominations are reviewed by the Fellowship and Awards Committee appointed by the vice chancellor for extension. The committee – composed of representatives of UMEA, Epsilon Sigma Phi, the University of Missouri campuses and the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Extension and Engagement – makes recommendations to the vice chancellor, who makes the final selection.

For award-specific questions, please email [email protected].

Award location

A symbol or recognition is presented by the vice chancellor for extension at a regional or campus event.

Award recipients

2020: Velynda Cameron

2019: Rob Myers

2018: Joe L. Horner