Toggle Side Menu In this section


The Ronald J. Turner Endowment Fund is established in honor of Dr. Turner's decade of service as the executive vice president for outreach and extension and director of cooperative extension at the University of Missouri. This endowment will be awarded each year to a faculty or staff member within University of Missouri Extension to support global education opportunities. The annual award is funded from a permanent endowment created with contributions from Dr. Turner's faculty, staff, colleagues and friends. The award may be used to assist in funding exchanges to Ireland, South Africa, Thailand, Costa Rica or other locations as requested.

A stable, well-trained workforce is necessary to ensure program quality and sustainability. University of Missouri Extension will strengthen efforts that will result in workforce diversity and retention. The goal is to ensure that the workplace climate affords a flexible, safe learning organization where employees are empowered and motivated to attain the greatest levels of success.


Recipients receive up to $1,000 (based on actual expenses) for an approved professional development activity.


Applications must be submitted prior to the professional development experience. Applications will be reviewed based on the professional development plan of the individual.

Applicants must currently be employed as a university faculty or professional staff member, and must have three (3) years of consecutive employment with the University of Missouri.


Nominations are evaluated on:

  • The relationship of the global education professional development opportunity or programming in global education to the applicant's position with extension and their professional development plan.
  • Individual initiative and creativity.
  • The benefit of global education programming or future professional development opportunity to the individual, organization and clientele.
  • Applicant has not received award before.

Nomination submission

To learn more about deadlines, submission instructions and other important information, please visit the awards home page:

nomination process

Award recipients

2019 David Burton 2012 Crystal Weber
2018 Karisha V. Devlin 2011 Letitia K. Johnson
2017 Lisa Marie Overholser 2010 Julie N. Middleton
2016 Lee Ann Woolery 2009 Amie D. Schleicher
2015 Mary Simon Leuci 2008 Joyce Lee Taylor
2014 Teng Teeh Lim 2007 Ann M. Cohen
2013 Sharon Ann Gulick 2006 Sharen Kay Hunt