Toggle Side Menu In this section


The MU Extension and Engagement Team Award for Equity, Diversity and Inclusion recognizes teams that are leading and innovating efforts to incorporate equity, diversity and inclusion into MU Extension culture, impact and outcomes. This award is presented by the MU Extension EDI Council through the generosity of the Kenyon Grant Harman, Dorothy Donohew Amos, Carolyn Harman Zollman, and Ruth Cora Harman Inclusion and Diversity Fund for MU Extension and Advancement.

Emphasis will be placed on submissions that show:

  • Impact and outcomes reaching new and diverse audiences
  • Potential for long-term, sustained efforts
  • Systemic, as well as local impact


An award of $1,000 is awarded annually. Funds are to be used for equity, diversity and inclusion program development.


Applicants must include University of Missouri Extension faculty or staff, including county support staff/bookkeepers. Non-Extension employees, such as community stakeholders and partners, may be included as part of the team. NOTE: Current EDIC members will not be considered for council-related work.


Applications will be evaluated based on the applicant's efforts related to:

  • Creating or reimagining programming or services emphasizing equity, diversity, and inclusion principles and practices
  • Documenting program impact and outcomes
  • Demonstrating sustainability
  • Showing innovation
  • Involving, building and strengthening key partners’ community

Nomination submission

To learn more about deadlines, submission instructions and other important information, please visit the awards home page:

nomination process

Award recipients

2022 MU Sembrador team: Juan Cabrera-Garcia, Ramon Arancibia, Estrella Carmona
2021 Claire Wolff and the Neighborhood Leadership Fellows
2019 4-H for All Greene County team: David Burton, Karla Deaver, Kelsa Ferguson, Justin Kastning and Kelly McGowan
2018 Patricia Ruth Barrett, Darla Lea Campbell, Karisha V. Devlin, Karen Brents Funkenbusch, Michael Gold, Eleazar Ubaldo Gonzalez, Debra Ann Kelly, Jeff J. Samborski, James Ray Spencer Jr
2016 Noel Project
2015 Bi-National Health Week
2014 4-H Youth Futures: College Within Reach Leadership Team
2012 Family Nutrition