Toggle Side Menu In this section


The Gordon Warren University Extension Land-Grant award began in 1991 with the first award given to Gordon Warren at the extension Annual Conference "to recognize someone who exemplifies the land-grant mission of the University of Missouri System and University Extension." Warren was a civic leader in Pulaski County (City of Richland) who served many years on the county extension council, was mayor, school board member, member of the Missouri Bankers Association, Missouri Health Coordinating Council and more — all roles in which he linked university resources with people's needs. Warren also was an avid supporter of Lincoln University.

After Warren, the award was to be given to "an individual who sees the universities as a community resource and who accesses knowledge and research to improve the lives of Missouri citizens." Further, the award is to recognize someone who facilitates the use of knowledge to affect public policy.


The vice chancellor for extension and enegagement presents a symbol of recognition.

Eligibility, criteria and selection

The award is giving at the discretion of the vice chancellor for extension and engagement.

Nomination submission

To learn more about deadlines, submission instructions and other important information, please visit the awards home page:

nomination process

Award recipients

2022: Sen. Dan Hegeman

2021: Roy Blunt

2020: Chris Chinn

2019: Rep. Donna Lichtenegger

2018: Sen. Brian Munzlinger

2017: Don Lucietta

2016: Jim Snider

2015: Sara Parker Pauley

2014: Bill Reiboldt

2013: David Pearce

2012: HC Russel

2008: Brady Deaton

2007: Diane Olson

2005: Ed Turner

2004: Dale Ludwig

2002: Jim Ollar

2001: B.W. Harrison

2000: Elaine Osborn

1999: Fred Hall

1998: Mel Carnahan

1997: Mel George

1996: James McHugh

1995: Peter Raven

1994: Ike Skelton

1993: Jim Dickerson

1992: Joe Jenkins

1991: Gordon Warren