Toggle Side Menu In this section


The Missouri Chamber of Commerce and Industry Extension Business Award recognizes faculty and professional staff members whose educational programming supports the economic viability of Missouri businesses.


The Missouri Chamber of Commerce and Industry presents the extension business award at a regional or campus event.


University of Missouri programming faculty, staff, partners and collaborators are eligible. Members of the immediate administrative staff of the vice chancellor for extension, regional directors, campus extension administrators and members of the Fellowship and Awards Committee are not eligible.


Nominees are evaluated on:

  • Recognition of their competence and leadership by Missouri businesses.
  • Established identity in the area or state as providing quality information and educational programs to businesses.
  • Demonstration of their interest and ability to assist businesses in finding solutions to their problems.
  • Success in providing information on opportunities, plans, activities and progress to interested parties.
  • Effectiveness as a leader in establishing relationships with firms, organizations, legislators and civic groups.

Applications must be submitted prior to the professional development experience.

Nominations and selection

County extension councils, extension faculty and staff members, manufacturers or other agencies may nominate an individual specialist.

Nominations for the 2020 awards will be accepted May 18 — August 10. Nominators will be directed through a simple form consisting of brief text fields, drop-down selection boxes, and a single description of why your nominee is deserving of the award. Note: Nominator name and contact information are not required fields; you may nominate anonymously or self-nominate.

Nominees are automatically requested to complete an electronic application form, and references will then be contacted for a simple statement of support as part of the final selection process. This is a simple, rolling, multi-step process and each nomination proceeds independently of all others.

If you have questions regarding this process, please contact Tippie Greene. For award-specific questions, please email [email protected].

Nominations are reviewed by the Awards Committee appointed by the vice chancellor for extension. The committee – composed of representatives of UMEA, Epsilon Sigma Phi, the University of Missouri campuses and the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Extension and Engagement – makes recommendations to the vice chancellor, who makes the final selection.

Award location

Award will be presented at annual conference or its equivalent.

Award recipients

2020: Amy Patillo

2019: Allen Waldo

2018: Travin Thomas Shelton

2015: Sandra Delina Marin Ruiz

2014: Kenneth Scheve

2013: Richard Dale Proffer

2012: Kathryn Evelyn Macomber

2011: Chris Vincent Thompson

2010: Christopher Lee Shoemaker