Toggle Side Menu In this section

Missouri Farm Bureau Federation Outstanding Agricultural Specialist Award


The Missouri Farm Bureau Federation Outstanding Agriculture Specialist Award recognize outstanding performance by a regional agriculture faculty member. Individuals must be nominated jointly by the county Farm Bureau board and the county extension council.


A representative of the Missouri Farm Bureau Federation presents a symbol of recognition to the recipient.


Regional extension agriculturalist or agriculture subject-matter specialist who have demonstrated outstanding program delivery during the past 18 months and are nominated jointed by the county Farm Bureau board and the county extension council are eligible. You may only receive this award once.


Nominees are evaluated on:

  • Recognized competence in their field, and knowledge of the people of the county, its agriculture and history.
  • Demonstrated leadership and ability to help people solve problems.
  • Established identity as the agricultural extension contact, who provides prompt, accurate and satisfying assistance through effective communication, to inform people of agricultural program opportunities, plans, activities and progress.
  • Effectiveness of relationships with the county extension council, county commission, local legislators, agency personnel, general farm organizations, and community and civic groups.

Nominations and selection

County extension councils, extension faculty and staff members, manufacturers or other agencies may nominate an individual specialist.

Nominations for the 2020 awards will be accepted May 18 — August 10. Nominators will be directed through a simple form consisting of brief text fields, drop-down selection boxes, and a single description of why your nominee is deserving of the award. Note: Nominator name and contact information are not required fields; you may nominate anonymously or self-nominate.

Nominees are automatically requested to complete an electronic application form, and references will then be contacted for a simple statement of support as part of the final selection process. This is a simple, rolling, multi-step process and each nomination proceeds independently of all others.

If you have questions regarding this process, please contact Tippie Greene. For award-specific questions, please email [email protected].

Nominations are reviewed by the Fellowship and Awards Committee appointed by the vice chancellor for extension. The committee – composed of representatives of UMEA, Epsilon Sigma Phi, the University of Missouri campuses and the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Extension and Engagement – makes recommendations to the vice chancellor, who makes the final selection.

Award location

Award will be presented at annual conference or its equivalent.

Award recipients

2019 Patricia Barrett 2009 Karisha V. Devlin 1995 Kenneth A. Bolte, Roger Lee Eakins, Thomas L. Hansen
2018 Zachary L. Erwin 2008 Eugene G. Schmitz 1994 Richard Wayne Clark, Gary D. Hoette
2017 Darla Lea Campbell 2007 Timothy W. Horton 1993 Don Ray Day, Leo William Reber
2016 Robert A. Kelly 2006 Sutro Wayne Shannon 1992 Eldon Willard Cole
2015 Jennifer Schutter 2005 Scott Collin Killpack 1991 Harold F. Mammen, Wayne R. Prewitt, Sarah J. Swofford
2014 Todd E. Lorenz 2001 Mark Alan Stewart 1990 Tony Ray Rickard, Donald Wayne Utlaut
2013 C Tim Schnakenberg 2000 Jesse Claude Owsley, Brent A. Robinson 1989 Albert L. Kennett
2012 Wayne Edwin Flanary 1999 Charles E. Browning, Matthew David Herring 1988 James E. Garrett, James E. Kennel
2011 James J W Crawford 1998 Gerald Guy Bryan, Karla J. Deaver 1986 Ronald D. Young
2010 Travis W. Harper 1996 Melvin Brees, Raymond A. Nabors, Dean W. Wilson