Toggle Side Menu In this section


The Missouri Farm Bureau Federation Outstanding Specialist Awards recognize outstanding performance by a regional human environmental sciences faculty member. Individuals must be nominated jointly by the county Farm Bureau board and the county extension council.


A representative of the Missouri Farm Bureau Federation presents a symbol of recognition to the recipient.


Regional extension human environmental sciences subject-matter specialists who have demonstrated outstanding programming for rural families during the past 18 months and are nominated jointly by the county extension council and the county Farm Bureau are eligible. You may only receive this award once.


Nominees are evaluated on:

  • Recognized competence in their field.
  • Demonstrated leadership and ability to develop and deliver high-quality educational programs for individuals and families..
  • Knowledge of the county's educational program needs.
  • Effectiveness in establishing relationships with the county extension council, county commission, county Farm Bureau, local legislators, agency personnel and community civic groups

Nominations and selection

County extension councils, extension faculty and staff members, manufacturers or other agencies may nominate an individual specialist.

Nominations for the 2020 awards will be accepted May 18 — August 10. Nominators will be directed through a simple form consisting of brief text fields, drop-down selection boxes, and a single description of why your nominee is deserving of the award. Note: Nominator name and contact information are not required fields; you may nominate anonymously or self-nominate.

Nominees are automatically requested to complete an electronic application form, and references will then be contacted for a simple statement of support as part of the final selection process. This is a simple, rolling, multi-step process and each nomination proceeds independently of all others.

If you have questions regarding this process, please contact Tippie Greene. For award-specific questions, please email [email protected].

Nominations are reviewed by the Fellowship and Awards Committee appointed by the vice chancellor for extension. The committee – composed of representatives of UMEA, Epsilon Sigma Phi, the University of Missouri campuses and the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Extension and Engagement – makes recommendations to the vice chancellor, who makes the final selection.

Award location

Award will be presented at annual conference or its equivalent.

Award recipients

2020: Amy Bartels

2019: Lindsey Stevenson

2018: Rebecca Sue Blocker

2016: Sarah Marie Traub

2014: Patricia Louise Snodgrass

2012: Jessica Lynn Trussell

2011: Susan L. Mills-Gray

2010: Melissa M. Bess

2009: Tamara Thomas Roberts

2008: Rebecca J. Travnichek

2005: Wendeline S. Brumbaugh