Toggle Side Menu In this section


Pat and Tom Buchanan believe in University of Missouri Extension. They have a desire to support the organization and a goal to see regional extension specialists enhance their knowledge and skills through professional development. Because of these key reasons, they have financed an endowment to create opportunities for regional extension specialists to strengthen their abilities to provide the people of Missouri with quality extension programs.

"We felt that providing this endowment would give extension faculty members an additional opportunity to enhance their skills. It is our way of giving something back to the organization that played an important role in our lives." –Pat Buchanan

Pat Buchanan worked for MU Extension for 30 years, starting as a county home economist and later working as a regional textile and apparel management specialist. Pat also worked as the assistant to the director of cooperative extension and affirmative action coordinator. In 1994, she accepted a position as regional director with University of Illinois Cooperative Extension. She retired in 2002.

After 10 years as a contracting engineer in private industry, Tom Buchanan changed careers to become an extension business and industry specialist. He spent 24 years working for MU Extension and four years working with Illinois Cooperative Extension.

This award will be given each year to an MU Extension faculty member to support professional development opportunities. Because of Pat and Tom's work with Human Environmental Sciences and Business Development, preference will be given to regional extension specialists in these areas.


Recipients receive up to $1,000 (based on actual expenses) for an approved professional development activity.


Applications will be reviewed based on the professional development plan of the individual extension specialist. Applicants must:

  • Currently be employed as a University of Missouri Extension regional faculty member.
  • Have three (3) years of consecutive employment with the University of Missouri.
  • Preference will be given to business and industry or human environmental sciences regional extension specialists.


Decisions will be based on:

  • Relationship of proposed professional development opportunity to the applicant's professional development plan
  • Individual initiative and creativity.
  • Benefit of professional development opportunity to the individual, organization and clientele.
  • Applicant has not received award before.

Applications must be submitted prior to the professional development experience.

Nominations and selection

County extension councils, extension faculty and staff members, manufacturers or other agencies may nominate an individual specialist.

Nominations for the 2020 awards will be accepted May 18 — August 10. Nominators will be directed through a simple form consisting of brief text fields, drop-down selection boxes, and a single description of why your nominee is deserving of the award. Note: Nominator name and contact information are not required fields; you may nominate anonymously or self-nominate.

Nominees are automatically requested to complete an electronic application form, and references will then be contacted for a simple statement of support as part of the final selection process. This is a simple, rolling, multi-step process and each nomination proceeds independently of all others.

If you have questions regarding this process, please contact Tippie Greene. For award-specific questions, please email [email protected].

Nominations are reviewed by the Fellowship and Awards Committee appointed by the vice chancellor for extension. The committee – composed of representatives of UMEA, Epsilon Sigma Phi, the University of Missouri campuses and the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Extension and Engagement – makes recommendations to the vice chancellor, who makes the final selection.

Award location

Award will be presented at annual conference or its equivalent.

Award recipients

2019 Chris Thompson 2014 Melissa M. Bess 2009 Virgil W. Woolridge
2018 Jessica Lynn Trussell 2013 Wendeline S. Brumbaugh 2008 Glenda Iva Kinder
2017 Emily Marie Barbee 2012 Kandace Lenae Fisher-McLean 2007 Jacqueline Anne Rasmussen
2016 Damaris Mumbi Karanja 2011 Kathryn Evelyn Macomber 2006 Carole Grigsby Bozworth
2015 Patricia Louise Snodgrass 2010 Cynthia E. Crawford 2005 Janet Carol LaFon