Toggle Side Menu In this section

Out of respect for the financial constraints we're all facing, the Office of Extension and Engagement has elected to suspend all 2021 awards that include a cash stipend, professional development funds or program enrichment funds unless the award is funded and designated by an endowment or gift. We recognize and value the extraordinary work that our faculty and staff have done throughout the year and in response to the global pandemic, and we look forward to honoring and rewarding you, and celebrating together in the future.


The Vice Chancellor's Award for Outstanding Achievement recognizes excellent performance by a University of Missouri or Lincoln University campus or regional faculty or a professional staff member in planning, conducting and evaluating a multiyear outreach program. This is an award for an individual.


Recipient receives a cash award in the amount of $1,000, less applicable taxes.


All University of Missouri campus and regional faculty and professional staff members with at least five years' experience in University of Missouri Extension are eligible. This is an award for an individual. Members of the immediate administrative staff of the vice chancellor for extension and engagement, regional directors, campus extension administrators and members of the Fellowship and Awards Committee are not eligible.


The award is given for outstanding performance in extension programming as indicated by:

  • Leadership.
  • High-quality program design, implementation and evaluation.
  • Responsiveness to high-priority needs of Missouri citizens.
  • Program impact.

Applications must be submitted prior to the professional development experience.

Nominations and selection

University of Missouri campus and regional faculty and professional staff members may make a nomination.

Nominations for the 2020 awards will be accepted May 18 — August 10. Nominators will be directed through a simple form consisting of brief text fields, drop-down selection boxes, and a single description of why your nominee is deserving of the award. Note: Nominator name and contact information are not required fields; you may nominate anonymously or self-nominate.

Nominees are automatically requested to complete an electronic application form, and references will then be contacted for a simple statement of support as part of the final selection process. This is a simple, rolling, multi-step process and each nomination proceeds independently of all others.

If you have questions regarding this process, please contact Tippie Greene. For award-specific questions, please email [email protected].

Nominations are reviewed by the Fellowship and Awards Committee appointed by the vice chancellor for extension. The committee – composed of representatives of UMEA, Epsilon Sigma Phi, the University of Missouri campuses and the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Extension and Engagement – makes recommendations to the vice chancellor, who makes the final selection.

Award location

A symbol of recognition is presented by the vice chancellor for extension at a regional or campus event.

Award recipients

2019 Jennifer Schutter 2010 Debra D. Davis
2015 Patrick L. Byers 2009 Kevin Wilson
2014 Georgia Marie Stuart Simmons 2008 Charles Merrell St Clair
2013 Susan L. Mills Gray 2006 Roger Lee Eakins
2012 Sharon Ann Gulick 2005 Leon A. Moon
2011 Renette E. Wardlow 2004 Michael Ted Gilliam