MACEDEP currently presents up to five awards each year. Our organization seeks to align the categories and their criteria with some award categories of the National Association of Community Development Extension Professionals (NACDEP) so that successful nominations can be sent to NACDEP for regional or national award consideration. MACEDEP award recipients should work with association leadership to ensure that their nominations are submitted to NACDEP — its due date is typically during the first week of March.

Previous MACEDEP Award Recipients

  • Show/Hide


    Excellence in Teamwork Award - 21 Qualities of a leader Program

    • David Burton – MU Extension
    • Jackie Spainhower – MU Extension
    • Pam Duitsman – MU Extension
    • Patricia Barrett – MU Extension
    • Amy Patillo – MU Extension
    • Johanna Reed Adams – MU Extension
    • Sarah Hultine Massengale – MU Extension
    • Megan Silvey – MU Extension
    • Adam Cletzer – University of Missouri
    • John David Tummons – University of Missouri

    Excellence in Community Development Award - Caruthersville Building Local Prosperity

    • Richard Proffer – MU Extension
    • Michael Milam – MU Extension
    • Jana Meredith – City of Caruthersville, MO
    • Sue Grantham – City of Caruthersville, MO

    Diversity Award - Neighborhood Leadership Fellows

    • Claire Rippel – MU Extension
    • Dwayne James – MU Extension

    Educational Materials Award - Build Your Board Training

    • Amber Childers – MU Extension
    • David Burton – MU Extension
    • Jackie Spainhower – MU Extension
    • Pam Duitsman – MU Extension
    • Chris Kempke – MU Extension
    • Jennifer Williams – MU Extension
    • Richard Proffer – MU Extension
    • Stephen Jeanetta – University of Minnesota
    • Ashley Bales – MU Extension
    • Dwayne James – MU Extension

    Educational Technology Award - Labor and Workforce Development Webinar Series

    • Amy Patillo – MU Extension
    • Matthew Pezold – MU Extension

    Cross Program - Missouri Eats

    • Jeff Samborski – MU Extension
    • GK Callahan – MU Extension
    • Sarah Morefield – MU Extension
    • Bill McKelvey – MU Extension
    • Mayor Damion Boley – Smithville, MO
  • Show/Hide


    Distinguished Service Award
    John Gulick and Dean Larkin

    Outstanding Program Award
    Missouri EATS (Engage, Act, Transform) Team: Pam Duitsman, Dean Larkin, Sarah Hultine Massengale, Bill McKelvey and Jeff Samborski

  • Show/Hide


    Cross Program Award
    David Burton, Pam Duitsman and Amy Patillo

    Teamwork Award
    Pam Duitsman and Amy Patillo

    Excellence in Community Economic Development
    GH Callahan

    Distinguished Career Award
    Johanna Reed Adams

  • Show/Hide


    Cross Program Award
    Youth Civic Leaders Summit Planning Team

    Excellence in Community Resource and Economic Development
    Pam Duitsman and Amy Patillo

    Education Technology Team Award
    Leadership Online For Today (LOFT): Johanna Reed-Adams and collaborators, including Mary Leuci and Connie Mefford

    Distinguished Career Award
    Jerry Baker

General Eligibility Requirements

  • Must be a member in good standing of the organization at least for the past year
  • Recognized work conducted in January 1 through December 31 of the previous year
  • If a team, majority of members must by MACEDEP members. For NACDEP awards, a majority must be NACDEP members
  • To be eligible for national NACDEP awards, nominee must be NACDEP member for current and past year. Please note that joining the Missouri chapter of MACEDEP does not include membership into the national organization. Nominations intended to be forwarded to NACDEP may need editing to meet additional NACDEP requirements
  • Refer to the nomination packet for more information on awards descriptions and requirements. The packet also includes a cover sheet template and sample nomination form.

    2020 Nomination packet (DOC)

Award Categories

  • Distinguished Career Award: Recognizes a MACEDEP member who is actively engaged in extension community economic development programs and who has served more than seven years (as of Jan. 1) in the program areas of community development, business development or related fields.
  • Educational Technology Award, Individual or Team: Recognizes the use of technology in delivering or managing educational programs; expanding the use of technology in extension work; or promoting logical problem-solving techniques using educational technologies. Awards may be for an individual or a team.
  • Excellence in Teamwork Award: Recognizes outstanding extension programming or projects conducted by a team that demonstrates effective performance and significant impact at the community, area, state or multistate level.
  • Cross Program Award, Individual or Team: Recognizes a MACEDEP member or group of members for excellence in extension work that combines or integrates community resources and economic development activities with work in other program areas. Applicants may focus upon community, regional or state programming. Eligible individual recipients must be current members of MACEDEP and at least half of team applicants must be MACEDEP members. Note that the collaboration must be outside Business and Communities to qualify, such as with Human Environmental Sciences (HES), 4-H or agriculture faculty members.
  • Excellence in Community Economic Development Award, Individual or Team: Recognizes a MACEDEP member or group of members for outstanding programs in any aspect of community development work or for program accomplishments relative to scholarly and creative activities, teaching and/or research effectiveness and showing evidence of collaboration with others who help meet community development needs.