Toggle Side Menu In this section

Vice Chancellor’s Diversity Award: Individual

Out of respect for the financial constraints we're all facing, the Office of Extension and Engagement has elected to suspend for one year all 2020 awards that include a cash stipend, professional development funds or program enrichment funds unless the award is funded and designated by an endowment or gift. We recognize and value the extraordinary work that our faculty and staff have done throughout the year and in response to the global pandemic, and we look forward to honoring and rewarding you, and celebrating together in the future.


The Vice Chancellor's Diversity Award recognizes individuals providing leadership in the area of diversity. This may include excellence in programs or other initiatives.


The award is given annually. A cash award of $1,000 is awarded.


Applicants must be faculty or staff with an appointment in University of Missouri Extension.


Applications will be evaluated based on the applicant's efforts related to:

  • The creation or expansion of programming or services in which diversity is emphasized.
  • The diversity of audiences served.
  • Program impact.

Nominations and selection

Nominations for the 2020 awards will be accepted May 18 — June 15. Nominators will be directed through a simple form consisting of brief text fields, drop-down selection boxes, and a single description of why your nominee is deserving of the award. Note: Nominator name and contact information are not required fields; you may nominate anonymously or self-nominate.

Nominees will be contacted in June to complete an electronic application form, with many fields auto-populated from the nomination form. The nominee may edit this information, complete a single narrative describing their work, and attach a current CV (for faculty awards). Applications for the 2020 awards will be accepted through July 17. References will then be contacted for a simple statement of support as part of the final selection process.

If you have questions regarding this process, please contact Kim Foley. For award-specific questions, please email [email protected].

Award location

A symbol of recognition will be presented by the vice chancellor for extension and engagement at a regional or campus event.

Award recipients

2019 Justin Kastning
2018 Letitia K. Johnson
2015 Karen Brents Funkenbusch
2013 John C. Hobbs